krotondemand.blogg.se

Lyfe jennings new album
Lyfe jennings new album





lyfe jennings new album

Don’t just be out here buying purses and shoes. If you choose to do it anyway, I understand. I’m not hating on the hustle, but just making them aware of the obstacles if this is what you choose to do. It’s almost like we’ve become publicists for drugs and strip clubs. You don’t mind? I would mind! You know? I think it gives the wrong impression. He says he don’t mind, but if your girl is coming in at three, four o’clock in the morning, like, 30 different perfumes and baby wipes. Mainly, the Usher song, “I Don’t Mind.” I think a lot of stuff you hear on the radio is lies. I wrote it in response to a couple of songs I’ve been hearing lately on the radio. Your single “Pretty Is” celebrates the beauty of women and the music video is clearly a commentary on the stripper archetype dominating pop culture, especially as it relates to Black and brown women. I just wanted to a concept that returned people to the people. Everything is automated, materialistically-based. I feel like the world really got away from the people. To me, the Tree of Life is the people and their interactions with each other. The Tree of Life appears in different world religions and mythologies. The album created itself, I just facilitate. I just go to the pool of subjects and just grab the best songs from that pool.

lyfe jennings new album

Sometimes, I might write 30 songs about one subject.

lyfe jennings new album

I try to grab the most powerful songs about a subject. I don’t just mean work musically I’m always doing work mentally. Unlike many veterans, at this point, you’ve expressed that you’re not trying to reinvent yourself on Tree of Lyfe. Whether his opinions give you life or make you cringe, there’s one thing you can’t deny: Lyfe Jennings speaks his mind. Need proof? Just watch the music video for “Pretty Is,” which gives us an antithesis to the stripper worship so ubiquitous in pop culture. But he isn’t shying away from the cultural zeitgeist. The singer is taking it back to basics musically and promises to deliver what we’ve come to expect from him.

#Lyfe jennings new album free#

Now, a free man with a positive view on life, Lyfe returns with his sixth studio album Tree of Lyfe (out June 23). In 2010, he was sentenced to three-and-a-half years in jail following a 2008 domestic dispute. Following his platinum debut, Lyfe continued to release music, including 2006’s The Phoenix and 2013’s Lucid, but it was a string of legal imbroglios that took center stage. He gave us eargasms on tracks like “Must Be Nice,” “Stick Up Kid” and “Hypothetically” (feat. Gruff and streetwise but with a marked redemptive quality-the album title comes from his inmate number-he was equal parts bad boy and seducer. In 2004, the singer (born Chester Jermaine Jennings) left behind a tumultuous past, which included a 10-year stint in jail for arson, and turned to music with his album Lyfe 268-192. At a time when most grown folks think R&B is dead-and the lines between crooner and rapper become increasingly blurred-one man who still believes in making music from the heart is Lyfe Jennings.







Lyfe jennings new album